Writers on Location – Annemarie Neary on Roaringwater Bay, West Cork, Ireland

A great piece on an area I know and love as well.

The Literary Sofa

By coincidence, my Hot Picks 2016  included three Irish writers. If I were to analyse my selections to date, it’s a fair bet that American authors would come out on top but recently I’ve been particularly impressed with the new talent from Ireland’s ever-vibrant literary scene: Louise O’Neill, Rob Doyle, Lisa McInerney (now longlisted for the Baileys Prize).  My latest guest Annemarie Neary is based in London but there’s no mistaking her Belfast origins in debut literary thriller Siren.  There’s an unusual slant to today’s Writers on Location as, for the first time in the series, the location of Lamb Island in the book is fictitious but closely modelled on a real place – and it felt very real to me (my review follows):

Long-Island-and-Roaringwater-BayThe West Cork coastline doesn’t yield its beauties easily. You can drive for miles on roads marked Wild Atlantic Way that give surprisingly…

View original post 946 more words

Leave a Reply

