My Map of You by Isabelle Broom – 3.5*s

My Map of You

Description

Holly Wright has had a difficult few years. After her mother’s death, she’s become expert at keeping people at a distance – including her boyfriend, Rupert.

But when Holly receives an unexpected letter explaining that an aunt she never met has left her a house on the Greek island of Zakynthos, the walls she has built begin to crumble. Arriving on the island, Holly meets the handsome Aidan and slowly begins to uncover the truth about the secret which tore her family apart.

But is the island where Holly really belongs? Or will her real life catch up with her first?

My Review

I loved the cover of this book, the blurb and what I’d read about it so I was keen to read this myself.

Essentially it is the story of Holly and how a surprise letter from an Aunt she never knew she had, leads her on a journey to Zakynthos to hopefully discover the truth about her mother and her Aunt. As well as uncovering the secrets of the past, it also helps Holly to re-assess her life and what she really wants for her future. Throw in a handsome sexy Irishman to stir things up and it all made for an interesting mix.

I enjoyed this book and especially the descriptions of Zakynthos, which should have the Greek Tourist Board rubbing their hands in glee. It was a perfect little tour of the island that would enchant anyone. As my first adult holiday was to a Greek Island, it certainly brought back happy memories and reminded me of just how beautiful and relaxed island life can be, away from the tourist hot spots. I also enjoyed meeting some of the island’s inhabitants, both animal and human, but especially Irish vet, Aidan, (a certain namesake Mr Turner sprang to mind, which helped feed the imagination).

If I had any qualms about the book, and the reason it just didn’t reach 4 stars for me, it was the English characters that left a little to be desired. I initially took a dislike to Rupert, his lifestyle and his friends, though I suspect that might have been a deliberate ploy. However there were also times that I didn’t particularly like Holly and her failure to be fair and honest. By the end of the book I’d almost done an about turn re Rupert, who while still not my cup of tea, was loyal and supportive.

Misgivings aside, and as is always the case, these are purely personal reflections, it tells an interesting and engaging story, that bodes well for the future given that this is a debut novel.

I received a review copy via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

Available via Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com
Leave a Reply

