See How They Run by Tom Bale – 3.5*s

See How They Run

Description

How far would you go to save your family?

In the dead of night, new parents Alice and Harry French are plunged into their worst nightmare when they wake to find masked men in their bedroom. Men ruthless enough to threaten their baby daughter, Evie.

This is no burglary gone wrong.
The intruders know who they’re looking for – a man called Edward Renshaw.
And they are prepared to kill to get to him.

When the men leave empty handed, little do Alice and Harry realise that their nightmare is just beginning. Is it a case of mistaken identity? Who is Renshaw? And what is he hiding?

One thing is clear – they already know too much.

As Alice and Harry are separated in the run for their lives, there is no time to breathe in their fight to be reunited. And with their attackers closing in, there is only one choice:

STAY ALIVE. OR DON’T.

 

My Review

When new parents Alice and Harry French wake in the middle of the to find masked men in their bedroom it is only the start of the nightmare. While they maintain it’s a case of mistaken identity their intruders are not persuaded, they assault Alice and even threaten their baby daughter, Evie.

While the next day see’s them trying to come to terms with what has happened and praying there are no consequences, Alice knows more than she has admitted, Harry’s day is about to get a whole lot worse and life for both of them will never be the same.

Well this book does exactly what it says in the blurb. It is exceedingly fast paced and has everything you want from a thriller. It is peopled with characters who you can never be sure who they say they are, it has car chases, mystery, murder and general mayhem. The characters range from the naive innocence of our besieged family to the pure evil of the chasing perpetrators via the murderous and backstabbing nastiness of an alleged saviour.

Given this you may wonder why I’ve given the rating I have, well there is a very specific reason and it coloured my feelings about the book. I read a lot of thrillers, gritty and otherwise, I’m not particularly prudish and can cope with sexual content. However for me, I found the sexual assault and threat in the opening chapter particularly distasteful and it made me distinctly uncomfortable. I might have got over that it if later in the book there wasn’t the underlying malevolent threat of further sexual violence from a particularly predatory male, made worse by the collusion of his mother. So it is as simple as that, I just didn’t enjoy that aspect of the plot. I acknowledge that it’s a very personal reaction, and if it’s unlikely to bother you, then you’ll probably enjoy the book for the dramatic, adrenaline drenched read that it otherwise is.

I received a review copy via NetGalley in return for an honest review

Copies available from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com

 

2 thoughts on “See How They Run by Tom Bale – 3.5*s

    • You could always download the sample to try for yourself. I seem to be in the minority on this on, so could just be me being squeamish. I’m also beginning to think I’m not good with psychological thrillers as I can’t cope with feelings of underlying threat and menace. Maybe I’m just getting soft in my old age. ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

