Book Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Gracias to Annie my blogging friend and (new found Spanish teacher!) for tagging me in this challenge. 

» Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2016

Museum Of You

Stand out book so far for me is The Museum of You by Carys Bray. As per my review:-

No over-hyped plot lines, no dramatic twists, just brilliant characterisation and evocative writing. The author writes about the ordinary and everyday  minutiae of love, life, friendships and relationships in such a way as to really get to the heart of what makes things tick.

 

» Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016

Play Dead

 

Play Dead by Angela Marsons. I’m a great fan of the DI Kim Stone series, I love the plot lines, the characterisation and most of all Kim.

 

» New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

Lie in Wait

Lie in Wait by M J Minett. His debut novel Hidden Legacy was one of my 5* reads from last year so I can’t wait to read this. I have bought it, and the feedback/reviews so far suggest I won’t be disappointed.

 

» Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

OK I know this is two but in my defence Blood Lines by Angela Marsons was only announced a few days ago and up until then my choice for this spot had always been Hide and Seek By M J Arlidge 

 

» Biggest Disappointment

This Secret We're Keeping

This Secret We’re Keeping by Rebecca Done received rave reviews when first published and I was keen to see what all the fuss was about. The answer is I don’t know. I found the characters unsympathetic, the story in parts implausible and clearly didn’t “get” what everyone else did. Interestingly the reviews are now a bit more mixed so my reaction is less out of sync.

» Biggest Surprise

Secret Diary of ...

The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen 83¼ years Old  This has received high praise so it wasn’t that I didnt expect to like it, but I was surprised at how ‘undiary’ like it felt and how emotional it was. I anticipated an episodic, fun read but got much, much, more.

» Favorite New Author

Oh dear, this was always going to be a hard one and as Annie allowed herself more than one, I feel I’m allowed too. Purely based on reads so far this year they are – in no particular order: –

Julie Cohen, Helen Simonson, Phaedra Patrick, Helen Pollard, Monica Wood, Kit de Waal, Carys Bray and Julia Claiborne Johnson.

» Newest Fictional Crush

Marcus, the next door neighbour and teacher in Julia Cohen’s Falling. I first read this back in January as The Day of second Chances before the publication date was put back and the title changed. However he has still stuck with me since then. I won’t say too much about him, but urge you to discover him for yourself!

» Newest Favorite Character

This one was easy and has to be Frank Banning from Julia Claiborne Johnson’s Be Frank With Me. The book is brilliant and Frank is an absolute delight or as he’s described in the book a “peacock in a barnyard full of chickens”.

» Book That Made You Cry

There’s been two that really had me in tears and they are The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson and My Name is Leon by Kit de Waal.

 

» Book That Made You Happy

Love, or Nearest Offer

I really enjoyed Love or Nearest Offer by Adele Geras. It was a feel good book that finished with a happy ending for all (sorry if that’s spoiled it)

» Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

Danish Girl

The Danish Girl by David Ebershoff, absolutely loved everything about this film.

» Favorite Post You Have Done This Year

Probably this one. As I’ve yet to strike out into Blog Tour, Interviews and interesting bookish posts, this is the nearest I’ve got to anything other than a review.

» What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year

OK definite difference between need and want so have gone for those on my review list (but I’m only admitting to those published or agreed from August onwards!)

 

I’m loathe to nominate specific people because I know you all have far more organised and busy blog schedules than me but it would be great if some of my blogging friends would take up the baton.

Delighted to see that so far Keeper of Pages and Book Addict Rambles have joined in so hop over and have a look at their choices.

10 thoughts on “Book Tag: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Awesome 😀 I’ve alredy checked out some of your tbr books haha As much as I wanted to like the Danish Girl (and I LOVE Alicia Vikander) I was disappointed 😦 I wanted to love it!

    Like

  2. I’m not a blogger but I do love these kind of things so, if you are at all interested, here are my answers:

    Best Book You’ve Read in 2016: Either Daisy in Chains by Sharon Bolton or Lie With Me by Sabine Durrant. Your choice will definitely be in my top ten of the year though.

    Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016: A Death at Fountains Abbey by Antonia Hodgson – brilliant series. The Kim Stone series is another one where I have only read the first one.

    New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To: Where do I start? Probably I See You by Clare Mackintosh.

    Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year: Hmmm, Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult (I have a review copy but it’s not officially released yet).

    Biggest Disappointment: At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier – I really expected to love it and I didn’t. I have This Secret we’re Keeping – I wonder if I will feel the same as you.

    Biggest Surprise: Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris – everybody kept saying they couldn’t put it down and I kept thinking it was going to be a let down. Not great literature and sometimes implausible but I really couldn’t put it down. I have Hendrik Groen so I hope I like it as much as you did.

    Favourite New Author: Debbie Howells, Phaedra Patrick, Alex Marwood, Joanna Cannon – I’m not sure I can call an author who is new to me a favourite, but I’ve read books by these authors for the first time this year and loved them.

    Newest Fictional Crush: It has to be Hamish Wolfe in Daisy in Chains – I didn’t really care if he was a bad ‘un or not, Sharon Bolton created a very charismatic character. The Day of Second Chances was the first book I read this year and I only vaguely remember Marcus but I recall he was very nice!

    Newest Favourite Character: Clover Quinn in The Museum of You – so endearing.

    Book That Made You Cry: Despite being quite an emotional person, I don’t often cry at books. The ones that have brought a tear to my eye this year are The Comfort of Others by Kay Langdale, The Day of Second Chances (Falling) by Julie Cohen and The Farm at the Edge of the World by Sarah Vaughan.

    Book That Made You Happy: The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

    Favourite Book to Film Adaptation: I don’t think I have read any books that have been made into films this year.

    What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year: Erm….too many to list but ones that spring to mine are The Silence Between Breaths by Cath Staincliffe and For Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood, both of which I have to read before the Off the Shelf Festival in October, The Muse by Jessie Burton, The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware and I See You by Clare Mackintosh, all of which I have on order from the library and which are all going to come at once, The Last Pearl Fisher by Julia Stuart and Late Summer at the Vineyard by Jo Thomas, which I have to read for Amazon Vine (which has a much tighter deadline than Netgalley) and The Japanese Lover by Isobel Allende, which is a book group choice for October.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Nicola for being so kind and doing this. It isn’t easy just picking titles from our extensive list!
      Re – At the Edge of the Orchard by Tracy Chevalier – I have this to read, but I won it in a giveaway so thankfully if it doesn’t grab me either at least it’s not for review.
      Re – Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris – I have this yet to read and I’m not sure about this, given the subject matter, but I might be surprised!
      Favourite New Author: Joanna Cannon – she may well be on my list after as I have The Trouble with Goats and Sheep yet to read.
      Clover Quinn would probably have been my favourite character if I hadn’t met Frank.
      I’ve also got The Last Pearl Fisher on my wishlist, just waiting for a price drop

      Like

  3. This is so cool, book tags for blogs (I thought it was just an Instagram thing 🙈, I’m still learning all the bases haha). I don’t have a busy schedule, I’ll take up the tag, it’ll give me something to ramble on about!
    Missing, Presumed is really good, I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. You have several titles I also I want to read listed: What Remains of Me – A.L Gaylin, Local Girl Missing – Claire Douglas (after The Sisters, which I have but still haven’t read yet) and The Perfect Girl – Gilly Macmillian. I’ll be keeping an eye out for your reviews of those 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

